Baby

Hiring a doula.

So I mentioned (briefly) that I am 29 weeks along with my first pregnancy. It’s a rather exciting time for us, and as I read through some of the blogs I know and love, there does seem to be something in the air these days. I was operating at what I call a “functioning nauseous level” through week 17 or 18, but now, I’d say I’m in the honeymoon phase. I’m due mid-August, and so I promise this won’t be a baby heavy blog, but there will be some posts about what I’m learning/thinking/feeling from time to time. And of course, as always, I’d love to hear your stories too.

One of the big decisions we came upon a few weeks ago was whether or not to hire a doula. Have you heard of such a person? I think it’s a more popular practice here in the northeast and on the west coast. But essentially, a doula is a birth coach. She (haven’t seen any that are he) provides support assuring things are normal during labor. With a doula, you’re most likely to stay home longer — which means you labor in the hospital less. She also helps with encouragement, pain management positions, educating you and your partner on what exactly is happening, and a whole bunch of other things. But I’d say the major reason that drew us is the affirmation of having an educated, positive professional by our side for our first birth.

Three of my friends who just had their babies all hired a doula. I think it’s safe to say that it wasn’t really on our radar at all until we heard bits and pieces of our friends birth stories and how much they raved about their doulas. In fact, after debating, we decided we’d hire one of the doulas my friend used. And honestly, we are more and more excited about it.

baby boy

A snap shot of our little one to come.

A couple other bits from my pregnancy so far:

– We found our doula here.
– There’s a really good article on  dad’s and doulas here.
– This is one book I absolutely loved (mostly because of all the birth stories).
– And, bonus, I found this article highlighting our doula. So fun!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Hiring a doula.

  1. Karen, thanks for linking to the article on Paige – she really is wonderful! I’ve seen her in action and I’m so thrilled that she’s going to be a part of your story. Congratulations, and enjoy the journey ❤

Leave a Reply

