Inspiration

Write something worth reading or do something worth writing.

ben franklin

So says Ben Franklin. What a great quote, right?

Have you heard of the publication GOOD? I believe they say it best when they describe themselves as a “community who gives a damn.” I recently read the story of Jedidiah Jenkins. It’s a story about his plan to bike 7000 miles (Yes, you read that right.) starting August 25th from Oregon to Patagonia. If you live on the west coast, maybe you’d be interesting in meeting up with him for a drink or a meal? I think I would like to hear his story first hand.

I’ve heard it said before that we become like the people with whom we choose to be surrounded. I absolutely believe that’s true. There’s an infectious fiber that runs in our social circles. And I believe it impacts us for better and/or for worse. (Most likely it’s a balance of both.) I am so thankful that I am fortunate enough to be surrounded by friends and family that empower and encourage. And it sounds like Jedidiah has had the same experience.

This quote pops up in Jedidiah’s story. It’s a great mantra for life. It’s quite broad, positive and powerful. In my opinion, this story paints a beautiful portrait of what life can (and should) portray. We all stumble on our way to discovering life and love and meaning. But let’s keep getting up and moving forward.

What words do you live by? Do you have a mantra?

words to live by poster

via Pinterest

Other great stories from GOOD:

– The top 10 city park systems in the US. (yay, Boston!)

– Watch a video proving  laughter is contagious.

Pledge 1% of your time for service this year..

Standard

2 thoughts on “Write something worth reading or do something worth writing.

  1. Elizabeth says:

    What a great quote! Also, I love GOOD! I’m definitely bookmarking it. Thanks for the recs and inspiring post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

