Inspiration

Retirement.

This post is for my Mom! Why? You guessed it. She’s retiring today. I’m not sure retiring is quite the right word? In so many ways, it’s more a beginning than an ending. And I think it’s probably healthier to approach it that way.

In any case, Mom you’ve worked long and hard. You have put in countless hours as a dedicated, all too often under-valued hero in the medical profession. You are one of the good guys.  You have devoted an incredible amount of time to your profession, and my hope for you (and the many others who will follow you) is that you feel satisfied with what you have accomplished. That you can honestly look back and say, “I have done well.” And then…move onward! There’s so much more life to live! And I am looking forward to celebrating it with you.

Here are some words to inspire the next chapter:

Retirement has been a discovery of beauty for me.  I never had the time before to notice the beauty of my grandkids, my wife, the tree outside my very own front door.  And, the beauty of time itself.  ~Hartman Jule

Don’t simply retire from something; have something to retire to.  ~Harry Emerson Fosdick

Retire from work, but not from life.  ~M.K. Soni

Retirement is the ugliest word in the language.  ~Ernest Hemingway

Our life, exempt from public haunt, finds tongues in trees, books in the running brooks, sermons in stones, and good in everything.
William Shakespeare

Any advice on retiring? Speak up, please.

Standard

Leave a Reply

