Inspiration

Family. And a tribute to dad.

family

Families are so quirky, aren’t they? No two families are alike, and it’s just plain silly to think they are. Here’s my unsolicited advice for the day: Love the ones your with. I’ve admittedly spent some years thinking that, “If my family would just do X; then I’d be Y.” Y being happy, normal, enjoyable, or a million other things. Have you heard of this before? It’s called the “if, then” syndrome. And it’s really not a fun thing at all to put others or yourself through.

It took me awhile, as an adult, to grow into my family. Weird statement, I know. But it’s necessary as adults to step back and see family in light of who we are and who they are. It’s way too easy to keep chugging along with the rhythms and patterns we all had growing up. My parents are amazing people. They’ve kept this family at the center of all they do, and they are absolutely endless with their love and dedication to their children. The ways that we have recently and continue to come together is both heart-warming and encouraging.

Today is my dad’s birthday, and I wanted to post a small tribute to him. I want to thank you, dad, for loving your family the way you do. You are a strong, compassionate, caretaker. You are a provider and a comforter. I am so happy to walk this earth with you, and I very much look forward to seeing what lies ahead.

Has your family experienced a transformation over the years? I’d love to hear your story.

PS Awkward family photos.

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Family. And a tribute to dad.

  1. Elizabeth says:

    What a great post! Almost made me cry. I’ve been feeling particularly grateful for my dad lately too. He had a scary accident a few years ago that left him hospitalized with several broken ribs and a punctured lung… This month he ran two half marathons! I’m so grateful that he is healthy and happy. Cheers to dads. (And happy birthday, Karen’s dad!!)

Leave a Reply

