Baby, Home

Things aren’t the way they were.

Currently it’s all about saving time. It wasn’t always that way. And it won’t always be that way. But with being new parents and new homeowners, I find it quite amazing what we think we can accomplish in any given weekend. I am one of those kooky people who actually really enjoys stopping at three or four small stores rather than one big store. I like knowing the small business owners in my neighborhood. I want to learn how to grow a vegetable garden, maintain my yard, and spend time shopping for that great accent piece for the guest room.

But at the moment, it’s more about maintenance and about how to maximize time with minimum interruptions. This means one of two things. I do things the way I wouldn’t necessarily like to do them.  Or I go without. Both are good lessons in their own rite. But it still leaves me being crabby pants every now and again.

Any tricks you care to share on how to not let the little things get the best of you?

PS Here are a couple time saving ideas:

Have you heard of TaskRabbit? (I’ve mentioned it before.) It’s not shopping, but it’s definitely a time-saving tool for little jobs around the house. I haven’t used it yet, but I’d like to.

And there are more than a few people in the office who’ve signed up for Stitch Fix. A personal shopping service for the rest of us. I’m still going to hold out a bit longer, but it would certainly help brighten my mood. Clothes shopping doesn’t usually see the light of day on my to-do list.

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

