Baby, Inspiration

On being a family.

I’ve been coming to terms with being a family of three for awhile. (O is almost one.) It took me awhile to come around to the idea that he’s not going anywhere. Don’t get me wrong, I love the little stinker. But I am quick to say I am not an instant mom. (A mom who seems to have a switch and knows how to be a mom from day zero.)  I wish I could be, but I’m not built that way.  So it took me a bit of time to (1) realize and (2) embrace the facts.

There are SO many other factors that go into this. But regardless I wanted to send a message out there to moms to say it’s OK to ease into family life. There can be lots of joy and laughter as you figure things out and move a bit slower than everything else around you.

What about you? Did you jump in and not look back? Or are you a one-foot-in-at-a-time kind of person too?

nom-nom

Photo taken by Dad. This is Owen’s introduction to falafel. (He loves it.)

Standard

4 thoughts on “On being a family.

  1. lbehrndt says:

    This post popped up on my homepage… Super great reminder I needed for today. I felt like I was an instant mom, but I am having a string of rough days with a toddler on an 18-month sleep regression and a sick baby… Thanks for the reminder!

    • I’m so glad. You definitely have your hands full! It’s hard for us to be kind and patient with ourselves, right? I’m so curious how all this will change once I have two! (Deep brief.) Take care.

  2. It is always a hard thing to find the balance to not lose yourself and be the mom you want to be for your little man. Nicholas is now 2 and testing the limits of my sanity and physical stamina. I love my little guy but it is a challenge as I am not one of those instant mom people.

    • Thanks for your thoughts, Heidi. I’m not so sure the instant mom really exists; maybe a very small population? Anyway, it is nice to know I am in good company. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

